Dr David Green

XXXIVth Edinburgh
Anaesthesia Festival
17-19 August 2022

Dr David Green

Dr David GreenDr David Green

I am an honorary Consultant Anaesthetist and Senior Lecturer at King’s College Hospital (KCH) and King’s Health Partners Academic Health Science Centre (KHP) in London. My 3rd student textbook (jointly) was published in 2003 and a new edition is planned for 2015/6. I am joint editor in chief of the Journal of Perioperative Medicine (Cure and Care, www.cureandcareportal.com) and on the founding editorial board of the International Journal of Surgery (2005 to date). I have examined for the Royal College of Anaesthetists (RCA) for both primary and final FRCA. In 1999 I obtained an MBA from the Open University after 3 years study.

In the last 15 years I have pioneered the use of a combination of innovative monitors in an attempt to improve outcome and also to reduce the incidence of postoperative cognitive dysfunction (POCD) especially in the elderly. A major collaborative research project showed that our intervention was succesful in reducing POCD. Major reviews on this subject and circulatory physiology under anaesthesia were published in the International Journal of Surgery and Perioperative Medicine in 2010, 2013 and 2014. I was appointed Hon. Senior Lecturer in 2007 and from 2008 to 2015 was R&D lead for Anaesthesia at KCH. Our outcome study using cerebral oximetry and BIS monitoring showing their benefits in reducing POCD was in non-cardiac surgery was published in 2012 and a similar study in cardiac surgery will be submitted for publication shortly.

On a regional and national level I was President of the S.E. Thames Society of Anaesthetists (SETSA) for 2 years (2003-5), Hon Sec, Treasurer and President of the Anaesthesia Section of the Royal Society of Medicine (RSM, 2002 to 2009). I have recently been an invited lecturer to the UK, China, South Korea, Taiwan, Thailand, Hong Kong, Japan, Malaysia, Singapore, India, Philippines, USA, Turkey, Greece, Spain, Portugal, France, Finland, Belgium, Croatia, Scotland, Austria, Serbia and Slovenia.